REVIEWS

THE CHAOS GATE
Book 1 in the Ever Hero Saga

5.0 out of 5 stars

A complete page turner.

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2020

Love this book and happy there is a series. A family read and a great story to discuss since our HS Sophomore is now reading for a class project. Her group selected her book for presentation and all are loving it. When your daughter tells you it’s a page turner and flew through 30 pages in one day. Wow! Winner here. Can’t wait to read the others.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Not my genre - till now :)

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2020

Verified Purchase

Bought this hesitantly on a rec from a friend, fantasy is not my genre. But got me right away, and kept me intrigued. Looking forward to the rest of the series!

5.0 out of 5 stars

Epic start

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2020

Good start to what should be an epic series. I would like to see it made it to a tv show.

4.0 out of 5 stars

Gate to Hell

Reviewed in the United States on September 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

The bad guys are very Evil and powerful beyond measure. Can the Good guys over the overwhelming odds? No spoiler here, but the journey to the end of this first book is long, arduous, and full of action, suspense, and betrayal. Warning; the main protagonist is 19 but knows nothing of the outside world, hence naive and prone to bad decisions. Meaning, some of this reads as YA.

Title: The Chaos Gate

Author: Jeff Pantanella

5 out of 5 stars // reads.grace (Instagram)

 

Review: Welcome to the world of magic, it sucks but you are going to love it. Yes, my friend, I’m hugging you and telling you to go for this book. It is a deep, dark, and intense fantasy where the reader is pushed to choose between good and bad. This book has magic and love and steam. We follow a continuous fight between good and evil. We have demons and a demigod named Aetenos. The Ever Hero is going to be chosen to carry on the legacy of heroes, which he doesn’t want, and this incident is going to change the Three Kingdoms of Hanna. The end brings a groundbreaking twist. You’ll receive a full experience of a land unknown and a story never expected.

 

It is a story that keeps you hooked till the very end. You will willfully, knowingly, and self-denyingly fall for the wrong side. Tempting, isn’t it? Steaming and sexy are the very apt adjectives for this book. You will have surprises and will be awestruck by some moments. It’s all that you can imagine and trust me, you do not want to miss it. Explicit, of course, take it as a warning if you want to. But the entertainment and the spice are never-ending. 

 

Complete five stars for this piece. This book is full of twists and turns, but the ending is worth all the suspense. You will see love betrayal, curses, backstabbing, and longing just in 500 pages. The author is smart and imaginative to have written this book and has kept scenes graphically enchanting and noisy. This is a quality that not many writers possess. Therefore, “The Chaos Gate” by Jeff Pantanella is a must-read.

 

Recommended to fiction and fantasy lovers. It is all that you want. If you like the 50 Shades trilogy, this is better than that. Go for it now and make your reading experience better.

 

-Grace Jackson

KIRKUS REVIEWS: THE CHAOS GATE

A singular hero rises to face both militaristic and demonic enemies in this epic fantasy series opener.

In the realm of Hanna, House Conrad rules Baroqia. But Duke Gerun Shiverrig, descended from Baroqia’s original conqueror, insists that Mortimer Conrad sits on a stolen throne. Further, Shiverrig believes that military might can keep the kingdom safer than entangled mercantilism, especially where barbarians are concerned. If court allies can’t help him overthrow Mortimer and House Conrad, then perhaps the sorcerer Maugris Hennerstrum and the Archdevil Sekka will.

 

Meanwhile, 17-year-old Kasai Ch’ou is a monk of the Four Orders studying the mysteries of the Boundless under the Three Masters of Ordu. While Kasai seeks a life of balance, his 18-year-old friend Daku revels in displays of power. The Masters want all students to abide by the teachings of Aetenos, the monk who became a demigod. A prophecy says that Aetenos will return to Hanna as the Ever Hero, wielding a weapon called the Ninziz-zida, a “three-sectioned staff” with “ancient power.”

 

Currently, the demigod is a captive on Gathos, Sekka’s homeworld. Sekka, inhabiting the form of a human seductress, plans her return to Hanna with the help of Maugris. With war imminent, where will Desdemonia, a Sunnese mage, go to start her new life?

Pantanella pours a dark, cinematic foundation in this first volume of his series. Chapters that rotate through the sharply contrasting perspectives of Shiverrig, Kasai, and Sekka (Desdemonia joins the cast later) move the plot along. Vivid prose offers monkish philosophy, as in the line “The Path of Ease will ensnare the undisciplined mind.”

 

The author is equally capable of portraying demonic sex and eerie abominations, such as the envoys of Maugris “They were physically wrong as if their bodies had been stuffed into human skin a size too small." Readers won’t have to wait long before war breaks out, and nicely rounded characters, like Daku, get satisfying arcs. Concepts like xindu energy and Sekka’s rivalry with the Red Devil, Zizphander, prove this series can only get wilder.

A propulsive fantasy that brings revenge, raunchiness, and heroism to the forefront.

MORE FROM KIRKUS REVIEWS:

Jeff –

I hope you are well since we last spoke. I just wanted to follow up with you to let you know that your review for THE CHAOS GATE was selected by our Indie Editors to be featured in Kirkus Reviews January 15 Issue. Congratulations!

 

Your review will appear as one of the 35 reviews in the Indie section of the magazine which is sent out to over 5,000 industry professionals (librarians, publishers, agents, etc.) Less than 10% of our Indie reviews are chosen for this, so it's a great honor.

The digital version of this issue will be available for me to send to you soon.

Please let me know if you have any questions. I look forward to reconnecting at the end of the quarter.

All the very best and congratulations,

Monique

THE FOE WARS
Book 2 in the Ever Hero Saga

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Verified Purchase

This book did not disappoint! The Author has an imagination for sure! I couldn't even had guessed as to where this book was going. So many exciting adventures with each character’s adventure left up in the air. I cannot wait until Book 3 to find out what happens with them. This is a must read! I may have to read 1 & 2 again before the 3rd comes out.

5.0 out of 5 stars 

People must buy this book

Reviewed in the United States on December 7, 2020

Verified Purchase

Everyone must buy this book if you haven't do so it won't disappoint.

THE DIVINE FIST
Book 3 in the Ever Hero Saga

5.0 out of 5 stars

WOW

Reviewed in the United States on January 25, 2021

Verified Purchase

The author has done it again! I love this book! I love the entire series! I truly respect how the author can make up these worlds and characters and have them feel so genuine. It is hard to know who to route for. He makes you feel compassion for each character whether it be a mortal, a devil, or an angel. The Ever Hero Fantasy Saga is my new fav! I was hooked on the “Hobbit” and “Harry Potter”, reading them multiple times, but this series is far better! I have read SEKKA three times! The Chaos Gate and The Foe Wars I’ve read twice! The Devine Fist DID NOT disappoint and I'll be reading it again. I can’t wait to see where the story goes. Kudos to the author, Jeff! To all you readers out there, BUY THIS SERIES! You won’t be disappointed! Happy Reading! #1 Super FAN!

THE FORGOTTEN GODS
Book 4 in the Ever Hero Saga

5.0 out of 5 stars

Good vs Evil?

Reviewed in the United States on February 7, 2022

As the war between good and evil resumes, and the two sides become even more alike, a new enemy has entered the fray. Will either side be able to hold their own against this new threat, or will it ally itself to the demons? What hope do our heroes have but to use all their power, good or evil, to win. And, if they do, will they still be heroes, or just the next generation of oppressors? ~ Cross Reardon

SEKKA
Origin Story Novella

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice short story N. Hirakawa

Reviewed in the United States on July 27, 2020

Pantanella’s ending was fantastic! Sekka was a fun page-turner and I really felt like I was there with her, every step of the way. A very fun escape from reality!!! Highly recommend.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read! B. DeLouchery

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2020

I thought this book was awesome! I love fantasy and this book was so different and captured my attention throughout! I cannot wait to start the next book "The Chaos Gate" to see where it takes me. Highly recommend!

5.0 out of 5 stars

A "HELL" of a ride! Literally!

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2020

Verified Purchase

I stumbled onto this author thanks to social media and I'm glad I did. The story grabs you from the beginning, but what I loved the most was how the world worked and the unique take on this universe's versions of the spiritual realms and their interaction with the mortal world. The creation story was nicely put together. Very well written and a definite page turner. I am excited to read more in this series.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Action-packed, amazing story and beautifully written

Reviewed in the United States on September 29, 2020

Amazing book and story. Definitely a page turner. The creation story was beautiful and the rules of this fantastical world was expertly put together and so intriguing to read. The author’s imagination and descriptions were captivating and it was hard to put this book down. Excited to read the next in the series. Highly recommend!

4.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing read!

Reviewed in the United States on September 30, 2020

This is the first book I’ve read written by Jeff Pantanella & I’m so thankful that I came across it. I highly recommend reading this book! You won’t regret it!