REVIEWS

THE CHAOS GATE

Book 1 in the Ever Hero Saga

5.0 out of 5 stars

A complete page turner.

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2020

Love this book and happy there is a series. A family read and a great story to discuss since our HS Sophomore is now reading for a class project. Her group selected her book for presentation and all are loving it. When your daughter tells you it’s a page turner and flew through 30 pages in one day. Wow! Winner here. Can’t wait to read the others.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Not my genre - till now :)

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2020

Verified Purchase

Bought this hesitantly on a rec from a friend, fantasy is not my genre. But got me right away, and kept me intrigued. Looking forward to the rest of the series!

5.0 out of 5 stars

Epic start

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2020

Good start to what should be an epic series. I would like to see it made it to a tv show.

4.0 out of 5 stars

Gate to Hell

Reviewed in the United States on September 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

The bad guys are very Evil and powerful beyond measure. Can the Good guys over the overwhelming odds? No spoiler here, but the journey to the end of this first book is long, arduous, and full of action, suspense, and betrayal. Warning; the main protagonist is 19 but knows nothing of the outside world, hence naive and prone to bad decisions. Meaning, some of this reads as YA.

KIRKUS REVIEWS: THE CHAOS GATE

A singular hero rises to face both militaristic and demonic enemies in this epic fantasy series opener.

In the realm of Hanna, House Conrad rules Baroqia. But Duke Gerun Shiverrig, descended from Baroqia’s original conqueror, insists that Mortimer Conrad sits on a stolen throne. Further, Shiverrig believes that military might can keep the kingdom safer than entangled mercantilism, especially where barbarians are concerned. If court allies can’t help him overthrow Mortimer and House Conrad, then perhaps the sorcerer Maugris Hennerstrum and the Archdevil Sekka will.

 

Meanwhile, 17-year-old Kasai Ch’ou is a monk of the Four Orders studying the mysteries of the Boundless under the Three Masters of Ordu. While Kasai seeks a life of balance, his 18-year-old friend Daku revels in displays of power. The Masters want all students to abide by the teachings of Aetenos, the monk who became a demigod. A prophecy says that Aetenos will return to Hanna as the Ever Hero, wielding a weapon called the Ninziz-zida, a “three-sectioned staff” with “ancient power.”

 

Currently, the demigod is a captive on Gathos, Sekka’s homeworld. Sekka, inhabiting the form of a human seductress, plans her return to Hanna with the help of Maugris. With war imminent, where will Desdemonia, a Sunnese mage, go to start her new life?

Pantanella pours a dark, cinematic foundation in this first volume of his series. Chapters that rotate through the sharply contrasting perspectives of Shiverrig, Kasai, and Sekka (Desdemonia joins the cast later) move the plot along. Vivid prose offers monkish philosophy, as in the line “The Path of Ease will ensnare the undisciplined mind.”

 

The author is equally capable of portraying demonic sex and eerie abominations, such as the envoys of Maugris “They were physically wrong as if their bodies had been stuffed into human skin a size too small." Readers won’t have to wait long before war breaks out, and nicely rounded characters, like Daku, get satisfying arcs. Concepts like xindu energy and Sekka’s rivalry with the Red Devil, Zizphander, prove this series can only get wilder.

A propulsive fantasy that brings revenge, raunchiness, and heroism to the forefront.

MORE FROM KIRKUS REVIEWS:

Jeff –

I hope you are well since we last spoke. I just wanted to follow up with you to let you know that your review for THE CHAOS GATE was selected by our Indie Editors to be featured in Kirkus Reviews January 15 Issue. Congratulations!

 

Your review will appear as one of the 35 reviews in the Indie section of the magazine which is sent out to over 5,000 industry professionals (librarians, publishers, agents, etc.) Less than 10% of our Indie reviews are chosen for this, so it's a great honor.

The digital version of this issue will be available for me to send to you soon.

Please let me know if you have any questions. I look forward to reconnecting at the end of the quarter.

All the very best and congratulations,

Monique

SEKKA

Origin Story Novella

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice short story N. Hirakawa

Reviewed in the United States on July 27, 2020

Pantanella’s ending was fantastic! Sekka was a fun page-turner and I really felt like I was there with her, every step of the way. A very fun escape from reality!!! Highly recommend.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read! B. DeLouchery

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2020

I thought this book was awesome! I love fantasy and this book was so different and captured my attention throughout! I cannot wait to start the next book "The Chaos Gate" to see where it takes me. Highly recommend!

5.0 out of 5 stars

A "HELL" of a ride! Literally!

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2020

Verified Purchase

I stumbled onto this author thanks to social media and I'm glad I did. The story grabs you from the beginning, but what I loved the most was how the world worked and the unique take on this universe's versions of the spiritual realms and their interaction with the mortal world. The creation story was nicely put together. Very well written and a definite page turner. I am excited to read more in this series.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Action-packed, amazing story and beautifully written

Reviewed in the United States on September 29, 2020

Amazing book and story. Definitely a page turner. The creation story was beautiful and the rules of this fantastical world was expertly put together and so intriguing to read. The author’s imagination and descriptions were captivating and it was hard to put this book down. Excited to read the next in the series. Highly recommend!

4.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing read!

Reviewed in the United States on September 30, 2020

This is the first book I’ve read written by Jeff Pantanella & I’m so thankful that I came across it. I highly recommend reading this book! You won’t regret it!

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 JEFF PANTANELLA : EVER HERO PRODUCTIONS